Friday 24th April

Here are Friday’s morning prayers and Bible meditations. They are designed to be read in 5 to 10 minutes. On Fridays we take a break from the theme of the rest of the week to read and meditate through John’s gospel.

Opening Prayer: Heavenly King, Comforter, the Spirit of Truth,
present in all places and filling all things,
the treasury of blessings and Giver of life:
come and abide in me.

Lord’s Prayer: Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
Your kingdom come,
Your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.

And forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from the evil one.
For yours is the kingdom, the power and the glory, forever and ever.

Amen

Text: The next day Jesus decided to leave for Galilee. Finding Philip, he said to him, “Follow me.”

Philip, like Andrew and Peter, was from the town of Bethsaida. Philip found Nathanael and told him, “We have found the one Moses wrote about in the Law, and about whom the prophets also wrote —Jesus of Nazareth, the son of Joseph.”

“Nazareth! Can anything good come from there?” Nathanael asked.

“Come and see,” said Philip.

When Jesus saw Nathanael approaching, he said of him, “Here truly is an Israelite in whom there is no deceit.”

“How do you know me?” Nathanael asked.

Jesus answered, “I saw you while you were still under the fig tree before Philip called you.”

Then Nathanael declared, “Rabbi, you are the Son of God; you are the king of Israel.”

Jesus said, “You believe because I told you I saw you under the fig tree. You will see greater things than that.” He then added, “Very truly I tell you, you will see ‘heaven open, and the angels of God ascending and descending on’ the Son of Man.” (John 1:43-51)

Explanation:  This account continues John’s insight into how he and his friends came to first encounter Jesus. The story tells us several important things about Jesus and how his disciples responded to him. For example:

a. Philip has only just met Jesus and yet is already going and inviting others to come and meet him too. We are never too young in our faith to share our experience of Jesus with others.

b. When Nathanael is skeptical about whether Jesus really has anything to say to him, Philip doesn’t argue. Rather, he just invites Nathanael to come and see for himself. We don’t need to argue with people or try and explain everything about faith; evangelism isn’t about having all the answers. The best way for people to understand Jesus is to come and see for themselves. We can do this by sharing sermon videos or inviting people to an online Alpha.

c. Jesus understands Nathanael’s skepticism without having to be told about it. He answers with a supernatural insight into Nathanael’s past. I love how compassionate Jesus is – he doesn’t condemn Nathanael for not immediately believing in him but rather shows Nathanael that he is who Philip suggests. This is also a powerful illustration of the role of the supernatural in evangelism and enabling others to encounter God.

Questions: Take a moment and give thanks for all that Jesus has done for you over the last day. Then ask: 1. How could you share your relationship with Jesus with others? 2. What is holding you back? 3. What might this mean for your life?

Prayer: Father, thank you that you want to use me to bring hope to others. Help me to be courageous in sharing Jesus with them. Help me to show your love and grace in all I do. Amen

Prayer for the Day: Lord, grant me to greet the coming day in peace.
Help me in all things to rely upon Your holy will.
In every hour of the day reveal Your will to me.
Bless my dealings with all who surround me.
Teach me to treat all that come to me throughout the day with peace of soul and with firm conviction that Your will governs all.
In all my deeds and words guide my thoughts and feelings.
In unforeseen events let me not forget that all things are under Your care.
Teach me to act firmly and wisely, without embittering and embarrassing others.
Give me strength to bear the fatigue of the coming day with all that it shall bring.
Direct my will, teach me to pray, pray Yourself in me. Amen.

Image Credit: Fadi Mikhail

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑