Daily Devotions: Monday 17th August

Here are Monday’s morning prayers and Bible meditations. They are designed to be read in 5 to 10 minutes.

The theme for this week’s readings is that when we trust in Jesus and turn from our old lives, God brings us into his family and gives us his love.

Opening Prayer: Heavenly King, Comforter, the Spirit of Truth,
present in all places and filling all things,
the treasury of blessings and Giver of life:
come and abide in me.

Lord’s Prayer: Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
Your kingdom come,
Your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.

And forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from the evil one.
For yours is the kingdom, the power and the glory, forever and ever.

Amen

Text: ‘Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love he predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will— to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us. With all wisdom and understanding, he made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, to be put into effect when the times reach their fulfilment —to bring unity to all things in heaven and on earth under Christ.’ (Ephesians 1:3-10)

Explanation: Paul’s letter to the first century church in Ephesus begins with an explosion of praise. He speaks of God’s love for us and plan to include us with him from before before the world was even created. God chooses Jesus and all who adopted in his family. God buys us back from sin and the devil, forgives us, and lavishes his goodness and love on us. His plan was wise and, through Christ, was put into action, bringing everything together in exactly the right time.

Questions: Take a moment and give thanks for all that Jesus has done for you over the last day. Then ask: 1. How does it feel to know that God has loved you since before the world was made? 2. Do you find it easy to accept that God works his plan out in the perfect time? 3. What difference might this mean for your life?

Prayer: Father thank you Jesus. Thank you that you have been working out your plan from the distant past. Thank you that you so love me that I am included in your eternal plan. Thank you that you have plans that work out in the right time, on a scale I cannot begin to imagine. Help me to trust you, to know your love, and to walk with Jesus. Amen.

Prayer for the Day: Lord, grant me to greet the coming day in peace.
Help me in all things to rely upon Your holy will.
In every hour of the day reveal Your will to me.
Bless my dealings with all who surround me.
Teach me to treat all that come to me throughout the day with peace of soul and with firm conviction that Your will governs all.
In all my deeds and words guide my thoughts and feelings.
In unforeseen events let me not forget that all things are under Your care.
Teach me to act firmly and wisely, without embittering and embarrassing others.
Give me strength to bear the fatigue of the coming day with all that it shall bring.
Direct my will, teach me to pray, pray Yourself in me. Amen.

Check out our talk about this week’s theme: 

Image Credit: Fadi Mikhail

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑